End of the Bench: Observations on the World of Sports
 
It’s NHL playoff time people!!

Normally, the NHL does not inspire me to ever even think about watching a game, but this year I might reconsider. Granted, I am not going to be a fanatic cheering throughout the first round, yet I may not spend my April, May, and June solely watching the NBA playoffs.

Let’s just be honest. I know basically nothing about hockey. I like watching them fight, and Sportscenter shows some sick goals. I don’t know too many players; I can’t name half the teams. However, I do know Alexander Ovechkin and Sidney Crosby. That being said, I might watch the Eastern Conference second round, when Ovechkin and Crosby’s respective teams could potentially face off.

Yeah, that makes me a shallow fan, but it is better than nothing. I have been hearing for some time now about Ovechkin and Crosby’s legendary battles. Now, my buddy Wheeler hates me for this. He says I just encourage the East Coast bias. I guess that is true. However, the only team I remotely care about (as of now) is the Anaheim Ducks, but they were horrible this season. I am not going to cheer for a team just because they are from the West Coast. As a matter of fact, I am not going to cheer for any team.

Basically, I am hoping that this year’s NHL playoffs make me more of a hockey fan. I would love to become a more well-rounded sports fan and hockey finally has enough marquee players to draw in people who don’t normally watch, like me.
Cam
4/15/2010 04:27:28 am

It's all about Sharks hockey, man. Marleau and Thornton are the players you should be following. ;)

Reply
Larry Bird
4/15/2010 01:59:24 pm

Hockey? I can't see the puck even in slow motion replay. They have a flashing light and a siren that go on when there is a score, so it makes sense that the puck should be illuminated or at the least, radioactive!

Reply
Dinomite
4/16/2010 04:07:17 pm

Yo Joe my bro! Sadly you know more than me in hockey. I agree with Larry Bird's comment, but I also do hope to become a hockey fan. However I do enjoy playing floor or street hockey.

Dinomite signing off:Ka-boom!

Reply



Leave a Reply.