End of the Bench: Observations on the World of Sports
 
Finally it is over. I no longer have to see nor hear anything else about Ben Roethlisberger, aka just Will Ferrell as a football player—so Will Ferrell 2.0. 2.0’s saga has been well documented these last few months and Monday it finally came to an end as the prosecutor decided not to press charges against 2.0 for allegedly assaulting a 20-year old at a nightclub.

Besides having to see 2.0 every day for some time (I guess 2.0 is only an upgrade in an athletic sense. He isn’t nearly as funny as the original. Oh well, you win some and you lose some), I am starting to get tired of hearing about all the sex-related athlete news these days.

Which brings me to my point: athletes live in a completely different world that you and I do. I can’t speak for the athletes, but it seems like they think they are invincible and that nothing can touch them. Despite all of the troubles surrounding their fellow athletes, they think they will still be ok. While 2.0 is innocent here, there still have been so many cases lately of athletes and sex, and beyond that, athletes in trouble with the law in general.

As many have stated before me, many of these athletes were given so much so early. Many of them became professionals about the time they could drink or before, and yet they are being paid salaries fit for Manhattan investment bankers. I can’t even imagine being put in situations like they are—it’s no wonder they mess up.

Now, I am no math major, but this lack of maturity coupled with too much money and few guiding figures is an equation for social Chernobyl. There needs to be an increase in accountability among athletes, otherwise our role models will continue to let us down.
Wheels
4/13/2010 10:50:28 am

Agreed. Good work Joe.

Reply
Dinomite
4/13/2010 01:52:01 pm

I'm sorry but I didn't understand the whole article. It probably was my kid level comprehension or my lacking of reading, but I just didn't understand some of this article. Sorry Joe I just need someone to explain this one to me.

Dinomite signing off:Ka-boom!

Reply
blackmagic
4/13/2010 02:24:17 pm

I agree with you joe. Many of the people that we see going crazy once they hit the pros are athletes that didnt have much as kids and now that they are rolling in the dough, they have so much money they don't know wat to do with it all. Their money creates endless possibilities for them and everybody wants to live the superstar lifestyle, hitting the clubs, having the ladies, taking care of your entourage. But that leads athletes to becoming like Antoine Walker (former Kentucky Wildcat hahaha).

Reply



Leave a Reply.