End of the Bench: Observations on the World of Sports
 
Oh, the Lakers. I really just don’t know what to think about them (objectively of course. In real life, when I am less objective, I just hate them.) Despite my ill feelings towards the Lakers, I have to admit they are a great team…most of the time. To me, the Lakers are like Mike Tyson. Stay with me for a second. The Lakers are like young Mike Tyson: they have all the talent in the world. Realistically, nobody should be able to stay with them. They have 5 potential all stars.

Lamar Odom, who despite never really living up to his full potential, can still be dominant and is that perennial “X-factor.” Then you have Pau Gasol, who can pretty much score at will against most teams despite looking like one of the orcs in Lord of the Rings. Andrew Bynum has tons of potential and is one of, if not the, best young centers in the game. Ron Artest is possibly the best perimeter defender in the NBA and is a solid offensive weapon. And then there is Kobe Bryant. While he may not be the best teammate in the league, he still is pretty good (ok, there is an underestimation).

However, like Tyson against Buster Douglas in 1990, I feel like the Lakers could very well be upset this year. Yes, I know they just clinched the top seed in the Western Conference Friday, but they still seem vulnerable, especially since the All-Star break. They have lost a ton of games that they should have won (see Charlotte and New Orleans). The Lakers are still the team to beat, but it will be interesting to see if they can keep it together. Realistically, nobody should even touch them, but like Buster Douglas, upsets happen.
Dinomite
4/10/2010 12:45:45 pm

Great article Joe! Unfortunately I hate the Lakers as well, but this blog article stretches to all of the Lakers fans. Good analogies too! Keep up the good work!

Dinomite signing off:Ka-boom!

Reply



Leave a Reply.