End of the Bench: Observations on the World of Sports
 
Well, I had every intention of watching UFC 112 Saturday night. However, due to extenuating circumstances and the fact that I found out the results of the fight before the fight was broadcast in the U.S., I ended up not watching. That’s right, the fight was fought in Abu Dhabi and the results announced before the U.S. broadcast (needless to say, I was a little annoyed).

If you don’t know, Anderson Silva put up a lackluster performance but still won and retained his title as middleweight champion with a unanimous decision over Demian Maia

Anderson Silva. I really don’t know what to think of him anymore. Clearly, he has all of the talent, which he supposedly demonstrated in the first two rounds tonight. But there are times when he can just be so frustrating and does not do much at all, which is what he did in the last three rounds. The guy can be flat out amazing. They call him the Spider for a reason (check out his knockouts of Forest Griffin and James Irvin or any of Silva’s highlight videos). I just don’t get it. Two of his last three fights have been disappointments (although the Thales Leites fight wasn’t really Silva’s fault; Leites just laid on the ground the whole time). The only solution I can think of is to give Silva a challenging fight, either against Georges St. Pierre (the likely choice) or against Fedor. Both would be great fights and if Silva doesn’t step his game up he probably will lose.

I really hope Anderson Silva starts fighting like his old self. There really isn’t anyone like him. The first time I saw Silva fight all I could think of was Neo from the Matrix dodging bullets. I just don’t get how he can dodge punches like that. It is crazy. Hopefully he can get his act together because Silva really is a treat and joy to watch.
Dinomite
4/14/2010 12:57:03 pm

I thought this article was entertaining, but personally I am not a HUGE fan of UFC. I'm sure UFC fans loved this article. Since I don't have interest in UFC I would give this article a 7.5 out of 10

Reply
Dinomite
4/14/2010 12:57:48 pm

Dinomite signing off:Ka-boom!

Reply



Leave a Reply.