End of the Bench: Observations on the World of Sports
 
Readers,

I apologize for yesterday's blog. I did not articulate my point very well, in particular the third point. Clearly, there are busts in every draft, including the NBA, MLB, etc. What I was trying to say was that ESPN, Sports Illustrated, and the like make a much bigger deal and spend way much more time, energy, and money on the NFL draft. By no means am I saying that there shouldn't be a draft, just that it is over-hyped. Also, it annoys me how certain all of the analysts are. They are so confident about something that is really an inexact science.

As far as the busts go, I guess I didn't do as good of a job identifying busts. I should have stated Akili Smith, Heath Shuler, Tim Couch,  and others like that. As far as the comment from Poop Patrol about Reggie Bush, I did say that he was a solid NFL player, just that he has not met the hype (where he was supposed to be the next Gale Sayers or Barry Sanders).

Again, I don't think the draft should be done away with--just the excessive attention and length that comes with it. I am sorry for not making my point more clear.

Joe Marshall
sometimes
4/22/2010 02:11:16 pm

i still love you

Reply
Dinomite
4/26/2010 11:34:39 am

It is okay Joe everyone makes mistakes.

Dinomite signing off:Ka-boom!

Reply



Leave a Reply.